Tripura is a landlocked hilly state in northeastern India, surrounded by Bangladesh on the north, south, and west and the Indian states of Assam and Mizoram lie to the east. It was formerly an independent Tripuri kingdom and was merged with independent India on 15th October 1949 by the Tripura Merger Agreement. The capital of the state is Agartala.

The state is covered by picturesque hills and dales, deep and green valleys which have added beauty to its landscape.


Tamil Nadu

Tamil Nadu is located in the southernmost part of the Indian Peninsula and is bordered by the union territory of Pondicherry, and the states of Kerala, Karnataka, and Andhra Pradesh. Its capital and largest city is Chennai. Geographically, is bound by the Eastern Ghats in the north, the Nilgiri, the Anamalai Hills, and Palakkad on the west, by the Bay of Bengal in the east, the Gulf of Mannar, the Palk Strait in the south east, and by the Indian Ocean in the south.



Sikkim is a landlocked North-eastern state nestled in the Himalayan mountains, bodering Nepal to the west, China's Tibet Autonomous Region to the north and east, and Bhutan to the southeast and West Bengal to the south. It's capital and largest city is Gangtok.

Sikkim is a land of rich and varied scenic beauty, magnificent mountains, eternal snows, dark forests, green fertile valleys, raging torrents and calm, placid lakes. The Himalayan mountains surround the northern, eastern and western borders of Sikkim.

Famous For
Kangchenjunga, the world's third-highest peak, is located on Sikkim's border with Nepal


Punjab, known as land of five rivers, is a state in the northwest India and is bordered by Himachal Pradesh to the east, Haryana to the south and southeast and Rajasthan to the southwest as well as the Pakistani province of Punjab to the west, it is also bounded to the north by Jammu and Kashmir. During partition in 1947, the larger half of Punjab went to Pakistan and the Indian smaller half was further divided into three: Punjab, Haryana and Himachal Pradesh in 1966. Chandigarh is the capital of the state.



Nagaland is a state in the far north-eastern part of India and was established on 1st December 1963. It borders the state of Assam to the west, Arunachal Pradesh and part of Assam to the north, Burma to the east and Manipur to the south. Kohima is the capital city of the state and the largest city is Dimapur. It is largely a mountainous state.



Mizoram is one of the Seven Sister States in North Eastern India and came into existence as a state on 20th February 1987. It shares borders with the states of Tripura, Assam, Manipur and with the neighboring countries of Bangladesh and Burma. Aizawl is the capital city of the state.

Mizoram is a land of rolling hills, valleys, rivers and lakes and is a beautiful place due to its dramatic landscape and pleasant climate.



Meghalaya, literally means the Abode of Clouds, is situated in the north-eastern region of India, between the Brahmaputra valley in the north and the Bangladesh in the south and came into existence as a state on 21st January 1972. Shillong, also known as the Scotland of the East, is the capital of the state.



Manipur is a state in northeastern India and bounded by Nagaland to the north, Mizoram to the south and Assam to the west; it also borders Burma to the east. Imphal is the capital city of the state.

Manipur, literally meaning "A jeweled land", is an oval shaped valley at the centre surrounded by hills, rich in art and tradition with nature's beauty landscapes. Its rich culture excels in every aspects as in martial arts, dance, theater and sculpture.


Having a varied and proud history, after the defeat in the Anglo-Manipuri War of 1891, Manipur came under the British Rule as a Princely State. Manipur merged with the Indian Union on October 15,1949 after India's independence and became a full-fledged State on January 21, 1972.



Maharashtra is the third largest state by area in India and is bordered by the Arabian Sea to the west, Gujarat and the Union territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli to the northwest, Madhya Pradesh to the northeast, Chhattisgarh to the east, Karnataka to the south, Andhra Pradesh to the southeast, and Goa to the southwest. Mumbai, the capital city of the state, is India's largest city and the financial capital of the nation.

Geographically, the state consists of two major divisions: the plateau, which is a part of the Deccan tableland and the Konkan coastal strip abutting on the Arabian Sea. It stretches from the west coast to the interior regions and its climate too varies with its geography.

Image Credit: