Chhattisgarh, formerly a part of Madhya Pradesh was formed on November 1, 2000 as the 26th state of the Indian Union with Raipur as its capital. It borders the states of Madhya Pradesh on the northwest, Maharashtra on the west, Andhra Pradesh on the south, Orissa on the east, Jharkhand on the northeast and Uttar Pradesh on the north. The natural beauty of the state combined with ancient caves and the unique tribal population make it a popular tourist destination.

Chhattisgarh is today one of the fastest developing state finally encashing on its rich natural resources including rare iron ore and gemstones.

Image Credit: