You are here


Karnataka, originally known as the State of Mysore, is a state in South West India and is bordered by the Arabian Sea to the west, Goa to the northwest, Maharashtra to the north, Andhra Pradesh to the east, Tamil Nadu to the southeast, and Kerala to the southwest. The state was created on 1 November 1956 and Bangalore (now called Bengaluru) is the capital city.

Geographically, the state has three main regions: the coastal plains abutting the sea of Karavali; the Western Ghats running parallel to the coastline comprising the hilly Malenadu region; and the inland plains of the Deccan Plateau known as Bayaluseeme region.

It is a land full of rich cultural heritage, religious hot spots, scenic flora and fauna and beautiful beaches by virtue of its varied geography and long history.

Vertical Tabs